top of page

A New Twist on a Weekly Newsletter

Last week, I shared how my students started using infographics, and specifically Piktochart, in our classroom for the first time. After learning about infographics over the summer at a conference session, I decided that an infographic would be a great way to update my weekly classroom newsletter.

In previous years, I created my weekly newsletter in Microsoft Word using a template that I had found online and adjusted to fit my needs. However, after experimenting with Piktochart, I decided to design my weekly newsletter through that site instead.

So, over the summer (when I had way more free time) I created a template on Piktochart for my weekly newsletter. I added sections for reading, writing, math, science and/or social studies, and Second Step, a program that focuses on character building that my district has adopted at the elementary level. Each week, I duplicate my template and update each subject with what we have learned throughout the week. I also include any important dates or other information for parents, as well as my email address and classroom website (which I plan on sharing soon as a blog post!).

My goal is to have my students start updating the newsletter each week on Piktochart...but I'm not ready to give up that responsibility to them just yet. Hopefully that will happen in the next few months.

If you're looking for a new way to update your weekly newsletter, think about creating an infographic! While I decided to go with Piktochart, other options for infographics are easel.ly or Canva. Happy infographic-ing!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Grey Twitter Icon
bottom of page